The Last First Day

Okay.. Since everyone is getting ready for the beginning of school I might as well get started before my posts become considered “late.”

Senior year… I don’t think there’s a definition for it honestly. Every person that I’ve talked to has their own opinion on it and so I always end up feeling either excited or scared.. They either tell me it will be the best year of my life and that I will look back down the road and appreciate this time or I will be so stressed that I will have to buy a wig  because I’ve pulled all my hair out..  No happy medium.

There’s always the excitement for the first day of school. New school supplies, seeing friends again, or in my case coming from a homeschooler sitting at a desk with my headphone in for hours alone, and being able to say that you’ve made it another year and that it will be the best year yet. Until you find yourself in the middle of March and yelling, “Can’t this year just be OVER ALREADY?!” But for me, this is the my last year. The next first day of school after this one I will be considered an adult and living pretty much on my own amongst other new adults living the same fears and questions that I have.

This is a question that has been on my mind a lot lately.. What school supplies does a college student need? I mean honestly I’ve heard mixed things. I know one thing that is necesary.. A laptop. I got that covered, but other than that I don’t know. I guess I have a whole year to figure it out.

My last and final point is..  How can I leave my family? They’re my rock, my social workers, they buy me food! They’re all I’ve ever known for 17, well it’ll be 18 years and now I’m expected to leave them and just start fresh like a dry erase board? I know there’s calls, texting, care packages, and all that stuff, but they’re still what I’ve known. My security blanket.

So now let’s get out there and be amazing everyone.. It’s the last first day of high school.


Leave a comment